Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Loading ingame data to external program/file  (Read 723 times)

idleness

Loading ingame data to external program/file
« on: 08 Sep 2005, 04:49:41 »
hey all, i'm new in the world of ofp programming/scripting and while i'm alright with the basic scripting commands and stuff, i can't find a way to stream output, lets say player's position to an external file(text file).

i've read the scripting "api" and can't seem to find a "function" that performs the task.

one more thing to  note, a similar topic was posted on SinewsofWar.

http://www.flashpoint1985.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard311/ikonboard.cgi?s=5e4d44f849d7b3a2af35804ea3a8d183;act=ST;f=7;t=46245

But i can't understand the part abt using "hooks" and dll files. i'd appreciate if someone could shed some light on the matter.

Offline Fragorl

• Coding Team
  • Former Staff
Re:Loading ingame data to external program/file
« Reply #1 on: 08 Sep 2005, 06:05:56 »
Hello, and Welcome to the forums!

Unfortunately, there is no 'function' that performs the task, within operation flashpoint.

I don't claim to understand Kegetys' Fwatch program either, but I do know what it does. I assume you downloaded it, if not then the post where kegetys links to it is here.

From the fwatch comref:
Write var=val to file fwatcher/mdb/name
Return value: -1 if failed, 1 if succeeded

example:
call loadFile format[":file write test.db %1 %2", "foo", 1]

File fwatcher/mdb/test.db would contain foo=1

So presumably you could say (I havent tried this feture yet)
call loadfile format[":file write info.txt %1 %2", "playerpos", getpos player]

And, of course the fwatch directory resides inside the operation flashpoint, so presumably you'll find your file inside there somewhere (this is untested).

No doubt someone will correct me if i'm wrong here, this was just a quick answer in passing

idleness

« Reply #2 on: 08 Sep 2005, 10:50:57 »
yes i did download the file but i can't get the file to work. =( .