Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Ivtiliac Island - fixing missing textures - transitions  (Read 1518 times)

Offline Mr.Peanut

• Former Staff
  • urp!
Hi am a total noob to island editing. I took my first stab at it last night.

I am using WrpTool to try and fix the missing textures on Ivtiliac island by nargul. Two cells were missing textures, which was easy to fix. However, after transitions it appears that some of transition textures, namely ptptb1s2.pac, s2ptb1b1.pac, b1pts2s2.pac, ptb1pts2.pac simply do not exist in O.

1) Can I find these textures anywhere? Is so do I put them into the same folder as the wrp?
2) Other rotations of some of the transitions exist. I can easily edit them. Do I put them into the same folder as the wrp?
3) I've noticed the decision procedure for texture transitions seems a little off in wrptool. It doesn't always place a transition where it seems obvious. Why?

Edit: Never mind. I figured it all out

« Last Edit: 23 Aug 2008, 21:53:00 by Mr.Peanut »
urp!

Offline Gnat

• Addons Depot
  • I Bite!
    • Gnats
Re: Ivtiliac Island - fixing missing textures - transitions
« Reply #1 on: 24 Aug 2008, 03:32:40 »
Can you explain the solution?

Offline Mr.Peanut

• Former Staff
  • urp!
« Reply #2 on: 27 Aug 2008, 17:52:12 »
Well, the WrpTool manual is a good place to start. It shows a picture of how transitions are handled. The gist of it is that each transition texture can be visualised as being cut into quarters, with each quarter representing one of the four surrounding terrain types.
ptptb1s2.pac is beach,beach,forest,stone
ptb1s2pt.pac is beach,forest,stone,beach
b1s2ptpt.pac is forest,stone,beach,beach
s2ptptb1.pac is stone,beach,beach,forest