Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Changing the driver view to OtocHlaven  (Read 2211 times)

Rocko Bonaparte

Changing the driver view to OtocHlaven
« on: 25 Sep 2004, 06:43:47 »
I have to admit I'm new to Oxygen in general.  I've been playing with config.cpp for a little bit and have become comfortable with it.  My current project is a single player tank.  The player takes the driver's position of the M1 abrams, and I have added some tweaks to make it slightly different than the single-player tank that is in the BIS headers.  

The problem I am having is fixing the driver's view to the gun barrel.  It is still fixed to the normal driver view: turns left or right but not up or down, Fixed to the vehicles orientation, begins to rotate as the mouse cursor moves to left or right side of the view.  I would prefer to have the view fixed to the turret, so the center of the screen is where a shell would be fired, and have the view turn as the barrel turns to catch the cursor.

I have seen some single player mods -- mostly mechas -- that do this.  I know it's possible, but I have been told by Gigan (one of the mecha modders) that I need to do my changes in Oxygen.  Specifically, I need to fix the driver's view to OtocHlaven in the memory LOD.  After scratching my head awhile, I managed to extract the Abrams model, find the memory LOD, find "driverview," and try to redefine it to the vertices that make up OtocHlaven.  This caused OFP to crash when I tried to load the mission containing my model.

I have a two main questions:
1. How do I do this?  ???
2. Can I redefine the memory LOD's without having to save a separate model?  I would like to do this with a T80 as well, and I feel it's a waste of space to save a separate, but nearly identical copy of the tanks for my own addon.

Rocko Bonaparte

Re:Changing the driver view to OtocHlaven
« Reply #1 on: 25 Sep 2004, 07:05:35 »