Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Editing texture paths  (Read 1329 times)

Offline Garritos

• Members
  • life is like a box of donuts...
Editing texture paths
« on: 17 Nov 2003, 00:56:16 »
I am an Oxygen Newbie that happens to be making an island.  I need to compile a few old object addons into one PBO for distribution with the map.  I have been searching for a way to change texture paths in the P3D to the new PBO file.  Here is the problem:  I have O2 lite and Bulldozer up and running properly but I cant seem to open and P3D's in Oxygen.  any Ideas why or an easy way to change texture paths??
Lead Mission Designer
1982:Flashpoint in the Falklands
http://www.flashpoint1982.co.uk

BoNeCoLLeCToR

Re:Editing texture paths
« Reply #1 on: 17 Nov 2003, 01:01:28 »
I think you try to open orginal BIS p3d that are in ODOL format O2 cant open these files  ;)
If you have Hex Edit you can change there the texture paths but it is a boring thing and takes time ;)

Offline Garritos

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 17 Nov 2003, 01:19:11 »
Well I dont have hex edit but im not trying to open BIS P3D files.  they are unofficial addons.  I cannot load any P3D's in O2 only make new ones   ???
Lead Mission Designer

Offline Garritos

• Members
« Reply #3 on: 17 Nov 2003, 02:57:01 »
upon further research, the add-ons may be binarized   :'(

anybody got any tips on how to use a Hex Editor to change the paths?
Lead Mission Designer

Offline SelectThis

• Former Staff
« Reply #4 on: 17 Nov 2003, 09:36:04 »
"Hex editing odol p3ds.. a lost art"

by SelectThis

Back in the good old days before the abundance of editing tools available today, hex editing was the only way to make an addon..blah blah blah...

Instructions:
1) Find yourself a good hex editor program (I use Ultraedit) with a "replace" function in it.

2) back up the p3d you want to edit
3) open it in the hex editor, check that it is ODOL (should be in the first few letters of the hex code)