Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: My first soldier addon...  (Read 2181 times)

Chomps

My first soldier addon...
« on: 15 Dec 2002, 21:28:22 »
Hi, there!  I am new to addon-making, so bear with me...

After requesting a couple times that someone make a pack of the original soldiers minus certain parts of the gear, I have decided to do it myself.

Mainly, this addon will have the same old BIS West soliders without the bedroll, which I see several people seem to be working on.  I intend to try to make some other changes as well, like making the helmet slightly larger, having versions without the helmet, having versions with different amounts of gear, and maybe making slight adjustments to the config.

Okay, so I set up oxygen, got the old demo version, and extracted all the stuff I need.

Although I am a beginner, I picked up a thing or two from hanging around the forums.  I know I will have to edit all the LODs to avoid the model from looking silly from medium distance.  I intend on adding a handgun proxy, I am sure there is a tutorial for that.  Also, I will be sure to follow the tutorial for enabling randomized faces.

Still, I have some questions (numbered for your convenience  ;) )...

1) I got the textures on the guy in the Buldozer preview by just dumping the entire extracted demo "Data" directory into a "Data" directory in the root directory.  When I look through the list of textures used by the entire model, it is somewhat lengthy.  When I pack these guys up into the pbo, I obviously will not take the entire Data directory and include a hundred Ural textures.  Do I need to manually go through the list and pick out the used textures or is there a simpler way?

2) The American flag patch and the medic's armband in the demo were seperate parts of the model with their own texture, which looked rather crappy.  How was this fixed in the final version?  Were they just added directly to the arm textures?