Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Search lights, bar gates, Map ID - the works.  (Read 2533 times)

Offline PASTORR

• Members
Search lights, bar gates, Map ID - the works.
« on: 23 Aug 2007, 01:42:47 »
Hello! My nick is PASTOR, I live Norway and are a member of the STUD-DIVISION gaming society/Clan. Although STUD is not active in Arma, we do play it sometimes just for fun.

I have been fiddling around with the editor for Arma, making computer vs. computer battles the last few days. One battle I made was very cool and as it turned out, it could be used as an extremely challenging and long mission (or at least I think so). I'm new to map editing, so I need some pointers in the right direction. I want to add some ambiance and feel to it, and thereby making the AI more challenging. I played through the mission as it now and it takes about 2 hours in order to complete it. By adding new AI features I reckon it will double since the player(s) must be a lot more patient in order to complete it.

I have tried to find information on the following but are not able to find a script so hopefully someone here can help med out. I will of course release my mission once it's done and I am satisfied with it.

1. Search light.
a). I want an AI player to man a searchlight, do 180 degree sweeps (left to right) for about a minute. Turn of the light and chat with other guard that stand there. After 5 to ten minutes I want him to go back to the searchlight do another sweep and this looping. In the event he find a target he will raise the alarm and follow the target.
b). In the event of an attack I want him to man the searchlight again sweeping and if he find a target to follow it.

2. Houses and Bar Gates need to disappear.
Removing ID items from the map. In order for my mission to function properly I need to get rid of a map built in Bar Gate, House, Bus stop etc. I have tried to use "set damage 1" on the items but it leave debris. How can I do this?