Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Generic Time Limit Question  (Read 1672 times)

Offline Tom_Anger

• Members
    • Shadow Company Elite (SCE_FATMAN)
Generic Time Limit Question
« on: 27 Mar 2007, 10:30:18 »
I have read different methods to set a time limit on a mission, and on some missions I witnessed I saw some nice screen updates to keep the players well informed.  Does anyone know of a script that I can use or logic in the description area that I can use to setup time limits?  I may need you to explain how to add the script as I am a bit new to much of this.  Still learning.

Offline Mandoble

• Former Staff
    • Grunt ONE and MandoMissile suite
Re: Generic Time Limit Question
« Reply #1 on: 27 Mar 2007, 11:10:02 »
You may try something like this:

Code: [Select]
// Time to wait in minutes as single script argument.
// waiter.sqf
// Example with 5 mins limit.
// [5]execVM"waiter.sqf"

_timetowait = _this select 0;

while {_timetowait > 0} do
{
   if (_timetowait != 1) then
   {
      cutText[format["%1 minutes left", _timetowait], "PLAIN"];
   }
   else
   {
      cutText["One minute left", "PLAIN"];
   };
   Sleep(60);
   _timetowait = _timetowait - 1;
}
cutText["Time is over", "PLAIN"];

Offline Tom_Anger

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 27 Mar 2007, 12:18:57 »
That looks nice and simple.  Forgive me for this next question.  Do I just use a generic trigger to call the script, can the call be added in the init program?  I don't see a command that tells the game that it is over so I want to make sure I add the call in correctly.  Thanks for your reply.

Offline Cheetah

• Former Staff
« Reply #3 on: 27 Mar 2007, 17:38:30 »
You can add it on the init line of a unit, for example with:
waitScript = [5] execVM "waiter.sqf";

No termination command is required for a script to stop working, don't worry.
Like missions? Help with Beta Testing! or take a look at the OFPEC Missions Depot for reviewed missions!

Offline Tom_Anger

• Members