Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: 10 meter DEM quetion  (Read 5147 times)

cirkut5732

10 meter DEM quetion
« on: 06 Jan 2006, 19:26:27 »
Hey everyone
Im not really new to the OFP editing scene but I am extremely new to DEM files.
I have been making a map via wilbur and wrptool and even with blurring I cant get the ground quite as smooth as say Nogova, (ground is a little choppy)
So I figured Id try out a DEM file So here is my problem

I downloaded 2 10 meter DEM files for the area of seattle, WA one N. seattle one S. Seattle and here is what I do
Open MicroDem v. 8.0 and merege the 2 DEM files, then save as a DEM.

Problem 1 = After merging and saving I try to Load the merged dem into 3dem and get the error "Not a DEM file" So I did something wrong there

Problem 2 = I read somewhere about opening Microdem and clicking the IN\OUT button then go to resample, DEM, and then Real DEM, When I go to resample I do not have these options

Problem 3 = I loaded N.Seattle dem file (not merged) Straight into 3dem, it loads, I save as a terragen file, Load it into Wilbur and save as a .txt LON file, I load this into wrptool and the island is all mangled, and not shaped correctly. So my big question is this

How do I take 2 dem files, Merge them, and get them to make a 512x512 map in wrptool?

Thanks guys!

Offline Planck

• Honoured
  • Former Staff
  • I'm never wrong ....I'm just not always right !
Re:10 meter DEM quetion
« Reply #1 on: 06 Jan 2006, 20:02:53 »
10 meter DEM's are not what you want unless you can resample them to 50 metres.

If you can get 30 metre DEM's it would be a little easier.

To make a standard size of island in OFP you need to have a DEM that covers 12.8 X 12.8 km.
Usually getting dems of the area surrounding your area of interest and merging them will give you a larger area than you need.

Once you have the larger DEM you can decide which part of it you want to use and then cut the exact size from the original DEM.

Problem 1: