Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Specific Unit Death  (Read 987 times)

Mad Monk

Specific Unit Death
« on: 23 Jan 2005, 01:13:35 »
Hello,

I'm making a semi-living military base. Whenever you walk by the soldiers guarding the Majors office, they salute to you and then return to being at attention. Unfortunately, when you kill them they die but continue to remain at attention. I know that if I use switchmove "null" then they will die, but I don't know how to tell the trigger that they are dead. Can I say something like "guard1's health is zero so activate trigger stop salute"? Also, how do I make a trigger initialize by default in the beginning of the game?

I've never used scripts before, so if I need a script to do this could you explain a little bit about how to execute and use scripts?

Thanks a lot,

Mad Monk

Offline macguba

• Former Staff
    • macguba's operation flashpoint page
Re:Specific Unit Death
« Reply #1 on: 23 Jan 2005, 01:21:16 »
1)  To make a trigger fire when the mission starts:

Condition:   true

Except as a rule don't bother, just put the line of code you want executed in your init.sqs.

2)   Trigger
Condition:   not alive loon1
On Activation:   loon1 switchMove "null"

Alternatively, group the trigger to the unit to get new options in the Activation box.

3)   If the number of units in question is relatively small, then doing it like this will triggers will be fine.   If it is large, then a script might be better.     The time honoured way to learn scripting is to read snYpir's A Friendly Intro to Code Snippets;  Johan Gustafsson's Scripting Guide and both the online and unofficial versions of the command reference.     There are simple working scripts in the Tutorial Mission.    All in the Ed Depot.

Syntax not guaranteed.   Oh, and

Welcome to the forum!

« Last Edit: 23 Jan 2005, 01:22:14 by macguba »
Plenty of reviewed ArmA missions for you to play

Mad Monk

« Reply #2 on: 23 Jan 2005, 03:09:51 »
Thanks for the help!