Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Simple queries - Minimum config, editing main config, implementing addons  (Read 1156 times)

Offline Roni

• Members
  • Play the Game !
Hello All

I am still new to config editing and had a few related queries about the above topics.  Essentially, all of my queries can be summarised by one example, detailed below.

First - can I change the resuts of an existing Class by way of an addon config ?  In other words, if I wanted to change the recoil of all Riffles (sp?) then could I simply change the config Recoils entry for Riffle ?  I'm thinking that the answer is no (I'd have to define a new Riffle recoil class and make new weapons or alternatively throw away the existing master config file and replace it with another BIN) but I'd like to be wrong here !   :D

Second - I keep seeing all of these "defines" at the start of each addon config.  Are they absolutely necessary ?  I'm no C++ programmer but I'm thinking that the answer is no - if I don't use that definition then I don't need to define it, at least in that addon.

While I'm on the subject - is the Config Patches definition necessary ?  I have only created one addon so far (mostly by copying (and crediting !)someone else's config) and it didn't work until I added this back to the file.  I assume that it IS necessary, that being so is there any standards that should apply here (such as name of the patch, avoiding conflicts with other patches etc) ?

Finally, what does it take to make an addon work ?  The one new addon that I made and mentioned above was simply two new weapons - a Canteen item and an MRE item.  Because of the problems I had getting it to work I also made up a new unit to carry them (a Civilian Supplies carrier).