Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: skinning units from old demo  (Read 1691 times)

Offline trinec

• Members
  • I'm a llama!
skinning units from old demo
« on: 20 Sep 2002, 05:07:33 »
ok im new to oxygen and dont have any great knowledge of creating new models to put into oxygen so i was wondering if some of you great wizards of making addon units could help with a tutorial or something on makeing new textures and placeing them on the old demo models.  Getting the whole proxy thing down has been a challenge too.  At least this is a start for us newbies ive done the huge crate tutorial without any problems and got it in the game so im getting the hang of it just lack the experience..  any help appreciated

Urket

Re:skinning units from old demo
« Reply #1 on: 20 Sep 2002, 10:03:29 »
I'd like to know how to put textures on demo models aswell...

Offline SelectThis

• Former Staff
« Reply #2 on: 20 Sep 2002, 21:51:49 »
Some tips:

Extract the textures from the DEMO data.pbo (demo sometimes used different textures compared to the normal ofp) then look at the model in o2 to see which textures are used, redirect via o2 (edit the texture path in the faces window, right down at the bottom, so it points to your texture).

PS use ctrl double click on a texture in the texture window to see what surfaces it is applied to. You can also use the background to face feature to see how the texture is oriented.

SelectThis

Offline trinec

• Members
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #3 on: 21 Sep 2002, 03:02:56 »
Thanks for the reply selectthis its appreciated and so is your work one problem i had when i opened a demo unit was that it said in the viewer that it could not open object data3d\ak_47_v58_proxy.p3d but it shows the unit in o2 light and in the viewer just gives me that error also i was wanting to add the pistol proxy that i received from bis called handgun.proxy does it just go in the data3d directory thanks all help appreciated.

Offline SelectThis

• Former Staff